• Home
  • Starry, Starry Night

Starry, Starry Night

SDPA celebrated the Stars of 2018 and the Stars to be for 2019 on Saturday evening, December 15, 2018 at the Shiley Suite on top of the San Diego Central Library overlooking the night stars of San Diego!  

Annual Awards were presented to:
President's Award - Mary Mulvihill, Ph.D.
Legislative Award - CA State Assembly Member Dr. Shirley Weber
Fellow Award - Katherine Quinn, Ph.D.
Distinguished Contribution to Psychology - Rosa Grunhaus Belzer, Ph.D.
Local Hero Award - Bertha Loaiza

In addition, a special award, the Shining Stars Award, was presented to A.W. Richard Sipe (posthumously) and his wife Marianne Benkert Sipe, M.D. for their lifetime work bringing to public light clergy sexual abuse and being of assistance to victims.

Participants appreciated the contributions of the 2018 President Cynthia Cotter, Ph.D. and the 2018 Board and were introduced to the 2019 President Diane Pendragon, Psy.D. and the 2019 Board.


 San Diego Central Library
Naomi Alter, Harpist
Cynthia A. Cotter, Ph.D.   2018 SDPA PresidentMary Mulvihill, Ph.D.   President's Award Winner

           Janet Farrell, Ph.D.
Introducing Dr. Weber
CA State Assembly Member Dr. Shirley Weber
Legislative Award Winner
David DiCicco, Ph.D. 
Introducing Dr. Belzer 
Rosa Grunhaus Belzer, Ph.D.  
Distinguished Contribution to Psychology Award
Hugh Pates, Ph.D. 
Introducing Dr. Quinn
Katherine Quinn, Ph.D.  Fellow Award Winner
Chad Cox, Psy.D. 
Introducing Ms. Loaiza

Bertha Loaiza  Local Hero Award Winner

Richard Schere, Ph.D. 
Introducing Marianne Sipe, M.D.
Marianne Benkert Sipe, M.D.  Shining Stars Award Winner with her husband A.W. Richard Sipe (posthumously)
Marianne Benkert Sipe, M.D. and Richard Schere, Ph.D.Adrienne and Richard Schere, Ph.D. with Marianne Benkert Sipe, M.D., and her sister Peggy Bunce.

Cynthia Cotter, Ph.D.
2018 SDPA President 
Passing the Gavel
  Diane Pendragon, Psy.D. 
  2019 SDPA President 

Annette Conway, Psy.D. 
2017 SDPA President

 Ellen Colangelo, Ph.D. 
2016 SDPA President
 Joe Severino, Ph.D. 
2019 SDPA President-Elect 

                                                                                                 2018 SDPA Board
                                                                                                 2019 SDPA Board


Contact Us:
San Diego Psychological Association
4699 Murphy Canyon Rd.  Suite 105
San Diego, CA 92123

Tami Magaro (Office Manager)
(858) 277-1463
Fax (858) 277-1402

San Diego Psychological Association is a 501(c) 6 non-profit organization.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software